Monday, February 6, 2017

A unique suspense novel: "Purgatory Road" by Samuel Parker


Cover Art


about the book....


When a day trip out of Las Vegas with his wife takes a turn for the worse, Jack is sure he has the ability to get them home. But he has driven into something far beyond reason.

Rescue comes in the form of a desert hermit, but hope fades as the couple comes to realize that the nomad has no intention of letting them leave. A chance encounter with a kidnapped runaway and her crazed abductor leads them all farther into the wilderness--and closer to the cold brutality that isolation brings.

At the edge of his sanity, Jack begins to learn that playing by another's rules may be the only way to survive.

In a voice that is as hypnotizing as a desert mirage, debut novelist Samuel Parker entices you down a treacherous road, where the forces of good and evil are as crushing as the Mojave heat. 



my review....


Fans of Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker, rejoice! There is a new suspense author on the scene, one who hearkens back to the glory days of when Peretti and Dekker's latest release would be met by salivating suspense readers everywhere. Parker has offered up a novel equal parts addictive as eerie, a book where you aren't sure who is good and who is evil (at least until the end), and where the confrontation between good and evil takes unexpected turns. Now, readers who get squeamish reading about killers should be cautious with this novel. That said, if you like a good suspense read already, then you won't find anything here that frightens you away (unless you read this book well past midnight, in the dark, and your floors are really creaky...)

"Purgatory Road" works as a purely entertaining novel, but also one that peers into the darkness of the human soul, a parable if you will that may lead you into the own dark corners of your heart to see if there is anything there you need to bring to Jesus. Indeed, at first I found myself looking at Jack and thoroughly judging him, for his behaviour to his wife and his horrible actions towards the character Boots (you will see what I mean). And then I remembered that we are most quick to judge people for the sinful tendencies and thoughts that can cross our own minds! So I found myself shifting uncomfortably in my seat as I judged the selfish and therefore unlikable character of Jack because I realized that perhaps his flaws are my own (though hopefully I'm not quite as self-absorbed as he is).I am thankful that God has not seen fit to send ME to a "purgatory" road, but has sought to teach me in other ways. I am reminded of the Bible verse that the Lord disciplines those he loves, and thus allows hardships for our good. So I closed the covers of this book and just paused to thank God for a good story and also for a reminder that, there but for the grace of God go I.

If you like suspense, read this book. And, if you enjoy books that not only entertain you but also sneakily teach you along the way, then this is definitely the book for you! I award this novel a very solid rating of 4 out of 5 stars, and look forward to what Parker is going to bring his new fans next.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.



 about the author....



Samuel Parker
Samuel Parker was born in the Michigan boondocks but was raised on a never-ending road trip through the US. Besides writing, he is a process junkie and the ex-guitarist for several metal bands you've never heard of. He lives in West Michigan with his wife and twin sons.











Ready to buy?
Amazon.com: