Vivid Storytelling: "Pheobe's Light" (Nantucket Legacy Book #1) by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Cover Art

about the book....

"Not today. I will not worry today."

Phoebe Starbuck has always taken care of her father--worrying enough for both of them, as he chases one whim after another. Now, for the first time, she's doing what she wants to do: marrying Captain Phineas Foulger and sailing far away from Nantucket. As she leaves on her grand adventure, she takes two gifts from her father, but desires only one: her great-grandmother's journal. The second gift? A "minder" in the form of cooper Matthew Macy, a man she loathes.

Phoebe soon discovers that life at sea is no easier than life on land. Lonely, seasick, and disillusioned, she turns the pages of Great Mary's journal and finds a secret that carries repercussions for everyone aboard the ship, especially the captain and the cooper.

Sail away with expert navigator Suzanne Woods Fisher, who confidently explores the sometimes treacherous shores of Quaker life on the storied Nantucket Island.

my review....

The first book in what is sure to be a winning series, "Phoebe's Light" is an enjoyable journey back in time to the 18th century. Fisher uses vivid language to transport readers to the Island of Nantucket, and if you are anything like me you will practically taste the salty air coming in from the sea! I loved learning about the whaling era, as well as about Quakers and their beliefs, something I'm not very familiar with. I also quite liked how the author has woven the journal entries from Great Mary's journal into the story. Sometimes writing in such a manner can slow a plot down, but that was not the case here as some of the journal entries were downright tragic, others humorous, and others filled with mystery. Together, Great Mary's past and Phoebe's experiences melded into a compelling whole.

The story starts with a very naive and perhaps self-centred Phoebe, but her growth over the course of the novel is interesting to behold. Many of the other characters are equally compelling, and it is a refreshing change that this book doesn't follow the typical romantic storyline of a novel where boy meets girl and voila! Rather, Phoebe takes some wrong turns along the way to discovering love. The book is perhaps more edgy than Fisher's Amish novels, as the man Phoebe marries turns out to have a dark side indeed. Once that side emerges, Phoebe's life takes a turn for the worse. Good luck putting the book down after that. I certainly couldn't!

Fans of novels infusing history, romance, and even some suspense are going to greatly enjoy "Phoebe's Light" and be left looking forward to the next book in the series. I award this novel a solid rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

about the author....

Suzanne Woods Fisher
Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Phoebe's Light, Minding the Light, the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop's Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher and Facebook @SuzanneWoodsFisherAuthor.

Buy now from